a common space for harmonic overtones
Groups are about to get a whole lot better. We rolled out a slew of improvements to the Groups feature.
Pages inside Groups
Instead of having to start a discussion in the group and share documents, group creators and administrators will be able to create a static page and simply add the information there. This enhancement should make Groups more versatile and powerful.
Pages within a group will act just like a normal page, in most respects. The creator of a page can choose to enable or disable comments, and the page will be accessible via the group's home page. Note that any pages added within a group won't be added to OMN 's "All Pages" directory. To avoid confusion, group pages will stay in their own group.
Create a page will be available to all group creators and administrators, although group members won't see anything different until a page is actually added.
There's no limit to the number of pages that can be added, so group creators have ultimate flexibility in creating Groups Pages.
Redesigned, changeable group privacy settings
As long as the Groups feature has been around, privacy settings for each group have been locked immediately after the creation of that group. Additionally, in terms of privacy, someone in the process of creating a new group has always seen a single "Privacy" setting. Additional options (like being able to make a group invite-only) would only appear after a group creator decided to turn on member moderation. We've tackled both of these issues for this release.
Groups creators and administrators will be able to change the privacy settings for a group at any point in time, for both new and existing groups. This adds a huge degree of flexibility to the Groups feature.
On top of allowing settings to be changed at any time, groups privacy settings will soon be a lot easier to use and understand. Instead of today's settings where there exists that single, expandable privacy choice, we've sliced each choice a group creator makes — who can view, who can join and who can send invites, as well as member moderation — into separate options:
This change allows group creators and administrators to create a group that anyone can see but only invited people can join, or an invite-only group where members still have to be approved. These, along with some others, are configurations that aren't available today.
These changes should make the Groups feature much more useful and flexible.
This content has been seen 7 times